Features & Latest News
Tuesday, 27 September 2016 13:03

2016 SANEA Energy Awards winners announced

The recipients of the 2016 SANEA/SANEDI Energy Awards, as well as the 2016 SANEDI/Rekord Renewable Energy Research Excellence (RERE) Awards, were announced at a prestigious banquet hosted by Brian Statham, chairman of the South African National Energy Association (SANEA).

In his keynote address, Statham paid tribute to the many men and women who are striving on a daily basis to ensure that South Africa enjoys a stable and secure energy future. “SANEA’s vision of ‘Energy People Working Together’ is alive as we come together to congratulate these winners.

“It is important for all of us to stretch the boundaries. If South Africa is to be recognised as a leading country, we have to go beyond the range of normal expectations. Through exceptional performance we can demonstrate what is possible, we can set the standard for a new reality that will deliver the social and economic development necessary for South Africans to enjoy a great future,” said Statham.

Dr Willie de Beer, energy sector strategic advisor, received the 2016 SANEA Energy Award, while two awards were presented in the 2016 SANEA Energy Project category, namely Acwa Power Solafrica Bokpoort CSP (Pty) Ltd and Unlimited Energy and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.

Source: SANEA